Using wheel adapters

Does anyone use wheel adapters and do they affect performance adversely? I’ve been using for a few months and I can’t find any huge difference but my car is an weekend driver.

Hi

when you say “wheel adapters” do you mean wheel spacers to increase track/ clear calipers or the spacers designed to enable you to fit a wheel with a different PCD to the Factory OE

Sorry. Different wheels with different bolt pattern

I have never used the adapters to change the PCD only to clear calipers, in my limited experience of these items are problematic unless they are Hubcentric, if the product is Hubcentric on both the hub mounting side and the wheel mounting side and manufactured to sufficiently small tolerances then there is no issues.

The problem tends to come when the items are not hubcentric and you are relying on the wheel studs to take the weight of the vehicle and to centre the wheel rather than as the manufacturer intended that the hub should perform both these tasks.

This issue can also occur when aftermarket wheels with the correct PCD but the incorrect centre bore are fitted and spigot rings are not fitted to take up the difference between the wheels centre bore and vehicles hub, this often leads to a vibration on the steering wheel which is often mistaken for the cars tyre/wheel assembly being out of balance.

2 Likes
  1. 1" (25mm) | 5x114.3 (5x4.5) to 5x100 Wheel Adapters / Spacers | 12x1.5 Studs | 1.0 inch Thick These are the adapters I do not know if this tells you anything. The wheels I do not know if they are hub or lug but they have the same Center If what I have won’t work I’ll definitely not use them

Hi from your spacers specification I assume you are fitting 5x100 PCD wheels to your GTO which is 5x114.3 and increasing the track by 50mm overall (25mm each side) the M12x1.5 is the OE stud thread so would be correct if you as using the same wheel nuts.