Rear Sub Frame Strip down

Thought i’d share a current pic of my rear subframe as is. I started stripping it yesterday and already see an issue, Apart from having to replace all ball joints bushings and the wheel bearings. There seems to be a plastic bung with silicone where I presume should be a metal plug of sorts where the Transmission oil goes in. ( Someone might confirm that for me please ).
When I complete the strip down I’ll send the entire assembly to be sand blasted and powder coated before I replace all the serviceable parts. If anyone has undertaken this before or if there are pitfalls that I am not aware of, please do let me know, otherwise I will muddle through as best that I can.

BTW I would be the typical DIY man that Joe would refer too in his Videos, I am not a mechanic and believe me when I say that without Joe’s videos I would Not be undertaking these jobs by myself.

2 Likes

I think thats the diff breather

Oh Really ? OK that’s interesting, That little metal cap which is just sitting on top of the breather is really badly corroded, I’ll have to source something else a little more secure, As i’m surprised it didn’t just fall off over time. Thanks mate

The rubber bung should be there but I don’t recall seeing silicone around it before.
There is a huge problem with what you are about to do if you are planning on powder coat.
The main mounting bushes will need to be cut out and I don’t know of any replacement available. Unless you can find someone with a stock of the large bushes, I would consider sand blasting and then spraying. This way, you won’t have to remove the bushes and if you use a high build primer, you won’t see all the rust pits that will be visible after sand blasting and powder coating.

:roll_eyes: mmmmm Yes that does change things a bit, It’s just as well I didn’t go tearing them out.
Primer and paint works for me. Might go with a coat of stone chip over them too just to be sure.
Cheers guys.