Project car on ebay

Hi I am thinking of buying a project car, me and my husband are really impressed by the gto and are thinking of looking at this? What should I be looking for regards maintenance and any common issues?

Thanks for any advice, site looks great :red_car:

Oh silly me forgot the link, not sure how to edit my post ?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1990-Mitsubishi-GTO-3-0-Twin-Turbo-4WD-Rare-Mk-1-Import-67k-Miles-Project-Car/284000331456?hash=item421fbd26c0:g:adoAAOSwI~5e9N5Q

The price might look good due to low mileage but I’m sure there are issues you need to check out so you’ll know how deep the pit is.
I’m not an expert by any means but I’m sure you’ll get good advice from members here.
I would go for it but that is me. Good luck.

2 Likes

If the car is drivable I would definitely take a trip to see how it drives. It’s going to show some signs of issues like any other car that you’re buying would. You can hopefully get a feel if there’s tell tell signs of wear in the gearbox or engine as rebuilding these two main parts of the car can be very expensive (8-10k) If it’s been launched hard over and over again then it’s likely to have done some damage to the splines in the transfer box etc.

There’s a useful buying guide on the gtouk website if I remember correctly. Might give you a few pointers but as mentioned most of the owners of these cars will tell you it’s a long and expensive road sometimes, Especially if there’s a major issue lurking and an expert garage that turns out to be not such an expert on these machines.

Get a car that’s been loved though and you can hopefully have a good time keeping these cars going and enjoying their performance.:ok_hand:t3:

5 Likes

Car doesn’t drive needs clutch.

1 Like

Hi Lucy and welcome to the forum.
I have been waiting for other people to reply to your message before I put in my offering.
Many of us will have different opinions on this subject because we are all looking for something different.