Restoring rusted bolts

Looking at restoring a bunch of old rusted bolts on my car and was wondering what would be the best way to go about doing it? Ive been told to use a sand blaster but that I do not have. Also I dont want to damage the bolts either. Any suggestions?

Think Joe has mentioned a video coming up soon that’ll touch on this subject.

But so far my way was to suck bolts in 10% vinegar (may take a few days tho if rusted real good), that cleans to bare metal and then zink electroplate. Not the prettiest result however, a dull gray finish, I am not a pro at electroplating, but kinda works if you really need to save that particular bolt.

Looking forward to learning Joe’s trick :wink:

What a coincidence that you should mention this. I am doing this video this weekend. Please don’t bother with sandblasting or vinegar. I will be showing you how to get them to look like they just came out of the factory.
It may take a week or two to get to you because Mitch is still a bit behind on the uploading and then the patreons get advanced viewing but it will be soon. There are a number of videos which are done but awaiting upload.

9 Likes

oh wow that is very good news. Cant wait to see that video.