New Project - Forgotten 1991 GTO

Hi guys, this is my first ever post so I thought i’d show some pictures of my “new” 1991 GTO Japanese import that I picked up back in February.
It has been off the road parked in a garage since 2011 ish but it’s not in too bad shape, save for some rust above the windscreen, and some peeling paint on the rear quarter beside the fuel filler door.
It’s the 5 speed manual, AWD naturally aspirated model.

The car hadn’t moved in nearly a decade so I decided it was the wisest option to transport it back, despite it being sold less than 7 miles from my house.

Though it did reverse up the driveway and into the garage without any issues.

Thanks to Joe’s wonderfully in-depth video, I was able to replace the timing belt and water pump straight away.

Next on the list is literally every fluid, along with tyres and brakes and every other consumeable I can think of. This is my first time working on a car so i’m learning as I go along, and quickly finding out that I need to buy more tools.

I hope to post more and read more on this forum over the next few weeks as I get more involved with the car, but for now I just wanted to say hello.

13 Likes

Hi Lewis and welcome to the forum.
Thanks for posting the pictures and the story with them. It looks like you have a good find there. Keep us up to date.

1 Like

Very nice, take your time with it, keep us posted !

1 Like

Done a few more things to the car, mainly service jobs such as brake fluid and driveline oils, but here’s something I’ve actually taken pictures of.

Clearly someone had attempted to steal my car in the past, the previous owner told me about this and I’ve been finding pieces of broken glass in various parts of the interior, but looking at the state of the steering column it’s obvious whats happened.

The aftermath of what I can only assume was an attempt to break the steering lock