Hello! Best car ever!

Hello everybody,

My name´s Óscar, I am from Spain. Last year one of my dreams come true (you must follow your dreams!) and I bought my always loved dream car, a Mitsubishi 3000GT VR4, imported from USA. The car is from 1993 and now, 27 years after, I bought with some things that I must to fix. But always I wanted to be self taught and I have taken this restoration as a personal project, like many other people. Car has lots of problems like: lights don´t pass inspection, aero didn´t work, climate burn out and idle don´t work well, stalling and power loss, dirty interior… all of theses now are fixed. This is the first time that I touch a car, I am not a mechanic, but I am field electronics. So I get started with this great machine, what a start!
I thought that instead of signing up for a car´s mechanic course, I would buy the car, which would cost me the same, and I would manage to learn :smiley:
Now the car, despite still having little things to fix, drives quite well. But the main problem that I have always had is that I cannot engage second gear if I accelerate a little.
This part is the most difficult for me, because I don’t have a good system to lift the car. I do not have a workshop, nor do I have a suitable place. So if there are tricks to do this job, welcome be.
I’m not afraid to take out the box and open it to repair it, I think you have to be dared and with common sense you can do many things. And if you break something, well you’ve already learned. Although I don’t want to break much because that means money… :smiley:
Well, I hope I can share experiences and knowledge here. Greetings to everybody and long life to the 3000GT.
Here you have a image of the car. Be careful these days, with the virus issue and forgive my bad english.

10 Likes

Looking good, welcome !

1 Like

Fantastic. You are following your dreams and doing things the way that so many of us have done.

2 Likes