Fixing up my dads old GTO

Yo my dads GTO has been sat for 4 years in a garage and he has passed me the keys but I only have 6 months of mechanic experience as I am only an apprentice. I want to fix her up and get her running, any tips or advice would be appreciated!! :skull: :racing_car:

1 Like

Would you like to tell us what the problem is and which country you are in?
Maybe we will be able to help.

1 Like

I am from the UK and there is an alarm on the vehicle that can only be deactivated via key fob which is getting sorted today but if the key fob fails do you possible know how to remove the alarm? It’s a red flashing light in centre console which means it’s in. If the alarm is on in the car it will not start, there are more issues with the car but that is the major one in the way of progress atm cheers!

These alarms are a personal hate of mine. Most of the ones that I have seen have been fitted by butchers and not what I consider to be professional. They hack up the wiring loom and trash the dashboards etc. Putting the car back together how it should be is not a job to be taken lightly, especially if you don’t have good electrical knowledge. A single mistake could cost you a car if it goes up in smoke. It is quite a big job and if it is a multi stage alarm, will take 4 plus hours if you want it to look professional. As a quick guide, you just have to cut out all of the wires that come from the alarm and reconnect the original wires using the colour codes but every alarm is different and the quality of the fitting will vary wildly. The best advice I can give is don’t do it yourself unless you have good electrical knowledge. Where are you in the UK?

3 Likes

If it’s been installed properly it will be hard wired into the cars loom underneath the dash do you know what make of alarm it is, abs I have some wiring diagrams of certain makes of alarm